Join #Expochat On Wednesdays at 1pm ET!

Diversity

TSNN is a proud sponsor of #Expochat

#Expochat – Leadership, Diversity and Career Goals

We live in a world that seems to be in constant turmoil. Political tensions are high and we still face challenges with gender, racial and economic diversity. The solutions to these problems can be found in discourse and education. What is the trade show and events industry’s role in solving these problems and how do we support young professionals from diverse backgrounds as they navigate their careers?

Join Moderator Michael Doane from CadmiumCD as he leads us in a discussion to tackle the following questions:

  1. Where can young professionals starting out find opportunities to learn and grow in their careers?
  2. Have you ever mentored a young professional?
  3. Does our industry face issues with gender, race, etc.?
  4. How do we ensure YPs from diverse backgrounds (gender, economic, race, etc.) find opportunities for leadership?
  5. How do you define leadership?
  6. How can YPs lead up the chain of command to affect change in an organization
  7. What programs or resources are available for YPs looking for leadership opportunities?
​​​​When: Oct. 18, 1-2 p.m. ET

Where: Use hashtag #Expochat and any Twitter chat tool! (Tweetchat, for example)

NEW: Come to the chat with questions about anything trade show-related. We will use our community to address your issues or maybe even hook you up with some help.

What is #EXPOCHAT?

Expochat is a Twitter-based conversation on topics related to the trade show industry. It takes place most Wednesdays at 1:00 p.m. Eastern Time (new time slot) and tackles a single topic each week - a recurring pain point, innovative ideas, evolution of the industry, best practices, and what works. Expochat is alternately moderated by four industry thought leaders: Stephanie Selesnick (International Trade Information, Inc.), Terence Donnelly (Experient), Michelle Bruno (Bruno Group Signature Services) and Michael Doane (CadmiumCD).

Expochat has been reformatted from previous years. The discussion (new format) will last a very fast-paced 30 minutes, followed by 15 minutes during which participants may ask questions of the group on any topic. To participate, sign up on Twitter.com and follow the #Expochat hashtag at the appointed time. Questions will be identified as Q1, Q2, etc. Responses from participants should be written as A1, A2, etc. Tools like Tweetchat.io and others can make it easier to participate. Ideas are welcome on Expochat but commercialism is not.

Trade Show News Network, the leading online exhibition industry news resource, sponsors the chat, and topics are listed in advance on TSNN.com. Reminders will be tweeted out prior to each week's discussion, but if you miss a chat, Storify transcripts will be available on TSNN after each chat. We gladly accept requests for topics at expochat@tsnn.com. Guest moderators are also welcome. #Expochat, now in its fourth year, works because the community supports it. Join us for the best live conversations about the industry that signs your paycheck. Rants welcome!

Missed #Expochat? No Problem!

Check out our past chats:

Oct 18 – Leadership, Diversity and Career Goals – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/leadership-diversity-and-career-goals

Oct. 11 – Experience Design: Is Your Trade Show Ready? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/experience-design-is-your-trade-show-ready

​​​​​​​Oct. 4 – Digital Transformation in the Global Exhibition Industry – https://storify.com/michellebruno/digital-transformation-in-the-global-exhibition-in

Sept. 27 – Disruption in the Event Industry – https://storify.com/michellebruno/disruption-in-the-event-industry

Sept. 20 – What’s on Tap for IAEE’s Expo! Expo! in San Antonio? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/what-s-on-tap-for-iaee-s-expo-expo-in-san-antonio

Sept. 13 – Hosted Buyer Events – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-hosted-buyer-events-with-very-special-gue

Sept. 6 – Disaster Preparedness and Recovery – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/disaster-preparedness-and-recovery

April 26 – Tricks of Attendee Acquisition for Events – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/the-tricks-of-attendee-acquisition-for-events

April 19 – Creating Education that Excites – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/creating-education-that-excites

April 12 – Is Your Event Technology Secure? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/is-your-event-technology-secure

April 5 – Is the Old Conference/Educational Session Model Dead? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/is-the-old-conference-educational-session-model-de

March 29 – How Attendee “Personas” Impact Trade Shows & Events – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-attendee-personas-impact-trade-shows-events

March 22 - Trends In Exhibition Sponsorships – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/trends-in-exhibition-sponsorships

March 8 - Taking Your Brand Overseas – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-extending-your-expo-brand-by-going-intl

March 1 - Trade Shows and the Gig Economy – https://storify.com/michellebruno/trade-shows-and-the-gig-economy

Feb. 22 - Bringing Up Baby: How to Prepare the Next Trade Show Industry Workforce – https://storify.com/michellebruno/bringing-up-baby

Feb. 15 - How "Green" is the Trade Show Industry, Really? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-green-is-the-trade-show-industry-really

Feb. 8 – Are You Leaning In? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/are-women-in-tradeshows-leaning-in

Jan. 31 – How Might Travel Ban, Changing Trade Pacts Impact Trade Shows? - https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-feb-1-2017

Jan. 24 – How Are Shows ‘Giving Back?’ – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-are-shows-giving-back

Jan. 18 – Using Hackathons to Re-Invent & Grow Your Trade Show – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/using-hackathons-to-re-invent-grow-your-trade-show

Jan. 11 – CES Review - What can we learn from our shows? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-jan-11-review-of-ces2017-what-expos-can-l

Jan. 4 – New Year’s (Event Technology) Resolutions – https://storify.com/michellebruno/new-year-s-event-technology-resolutions

Nov. 30, 2016 – Is the Trade Show Industry Ready for Artificial Intelligence? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/s-the-trade-show-industry-ready-for-artificial-int

Nov. 9, 2016 – What Makes a Good Leader in Today’s Environment? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/what-makes-a-good-leader-in-today-s-environment-58238130caffda621fab15e7

Nov. 2, 2016 – TSNN Awards: Education, Inspiration, Celebration – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/expochat-from-nov-2-2016

Oct. 26, 2016 – “Matchmaking: Can Technology Bring Exhibitors More/Better Matches and Leads?” - https://storify.com/michellebruno/matchmaking-can-technology-bring-exhibitors-more-b

Oct. 12, 2016 – All There Is to Know About IAEE's Expo! Expo! – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/we-re-talking-iaee-hq-expo-expo-dec-6-8-in-anaheim#publicize

Oct. 5, 2016 – How Can You Build Community on the Show floor? – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/community-spaces

Sept. 28, 2016 – How Can We Increase International Attendance at Our Shows? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-international-attendee-acquisition#publicize

Sept. 21, 2016 – Does Gamification Work for B2B Trade Shows? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/does-gamification-work-for-b2b-trade-shows

Partner Voices

Until recently, the opportunity to have a celebrity attend an event, attach themselves to a name-brand or endorse a certain product or idea was untouchable. The thought of paying a person to promote a product was seen as something only Fortune 500 companies could afford. Social media has changed all that with brands and businesses utilizing celebrity influencers to connect directly with their demographics and increase sales and profits.